Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

The 113th President of the Oklahoma Dental Association Installed

Dr. Daniel Wilguess Begins Term as the 2019-2020 ODA President

OKLAHOMA CITY (May 8, 2019): The Oklahoma Dental Association (ODA) is proud to announce that Daniel Wilguess, DDS will serve as the 113th ODA President. Dr. Wilguess was sworn into the presidency by Dr. Raymond Cohlmia, dean of the OU College of Dentistry, during the 2019 ODA House of Delegates meeting on April 25 at the DoubleTree Hotel in Tulsa, OK. He will serve a one-year term, ending April 30, 2020.

As president of the Oklahoma Dental Association, Dr. Wilguess will serve as the official representative of this Association with governmental, civic, business and professional organizations for the purpose of advancing the objectives and policies of the Oklahoma Dental Association.

“Due to evolving technology, advances in materials, and support for all parts of the dental practice through professional organizations, we are currently delivering dental care in better ways than ever before. This year I will build on the foundation laid by the ODA presidents who preceded me and will work to not only capitalize on existing relationships, but also foster new ones,” said Dr. Wilguess.

During this year’s meeting seven other dentist were recognized for their dedication to the dental profession and commitment to serving our community in various ways. A list of the 2019 award winners are as follows:

Dr. Phoebe Vaughn of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma received the Robert K. Wynn Award for her dedication to increasing public awareness and education of oral health.

Dr. James Sparks of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma was awarded the ODA Dan E. Brannin Professionalism Award. This award is presented annually to an ODA member dentist who has made significant contributions to the advancements of the principles and practice of ethics and professionalism in dentistry.

Dr. Robert Livingston of Muskogee, Oklahoma was honored with the Thomas Jefferson Citizenship award for his significant contributions and services to his community.

Dr. Chris Fagan of Enid, Oklahoma was awarded the President’s Leadership award for his leadership as the 2019 chair of the Oklahoma Mission of Mercy event. This event provided 1,684 patients from across the state with free dental care.

Dr. Mathew Hookom of Atoka, Oklahoma was recognized for his service to the dental profession with the Young Dentist of the Year award. Dr. Tamara Berg of Yukon, Oklahoma was named the Dentist of the Year. Her passion and devotion to the profession is evident as she actively continues to advance the science and art of dentistry.

Dr. Stephen Glenn of Tulsa, Oklahoma was honored with the ODA’s most prestigious award, the James A. Saddoris Lifetime of Leadership award. Dr. Glenn exemplifies the highest level of ethics, professionalism and truest devotion to the dental profession.

The ODA is delighted to honor each of these members who are working every day to further the dental profession and educate Oklahomans about oral health.

As Dr. Wilguess becomes President of the ODA, he looks forward to building relationships with more dentists and within our communities. “I challenge my colleagues to be interested in impacting our profession for the good health of all Oklahomans.”

Read Full Press Release Here